Semi-OT - R Lenses

don_boyd3

Most list members know that Canonflex SLR bodies and R Lenses were the predecessors to Canon FD bodies and lenses. I dragged two

Canonflexes, five R lenses and an Asahi Pentax Spotmeter in a grubby DIY-modified brown briefcase all over the world from 1962 to 1976.

By 1976 Canon factory repair shops would no longer work on the Canonflex due to lack of parts. I went to FD without hesitation. If you're

interested in this family of Canons the Canon Museum has a lot of good info, I had great service from the outfit.

During the time I used the older R Lenses I shot some of the best pictures of my life (Remember I'm an amateur first, last, and always).

Consequently, my subject of Semi-OT connotes not FD but FD-related. I just finished sorting through about 280 slides shot in 1965-1967

in the Japanese countryside. After sorting, I've kept/scanned 46 slides divided into three Flickr urls (Nikon Coolscan V/ED). Each slide

has the year shot (some are est), and lens used (some are est), and comments of subject content (some are est).

These slides are from the Mid 1960's of scenes from growing rice and other crops in Northern Honshu, Japan (19 Slides).

1966-Japanese-Farming

These slides are of the rice harvest in Northern Honshu, Japan in 1965/1966 (18 Slides).

1966-Japanese-Rice-Harvesting

Toured the Northeastern coast with a friend to shoot the high surf a few days after a moderate typhoon (9 Slides).

1966--Pacific--Typhoon

Over the years my slides were used in a Kodak Carousel Projector. In several cases, I had to remount the slides into generic mounts

because the glue dried out. I did not record film type. To be honest, after I use all the tint, color temperature, and brightness controls

available in Nikonscan 4 and IPhoto, the film type doesn't mean much to me so I don't record it. I hope this interests you all.

WYSIWYG

Don B in Hampton Roads