Seeking a Master's degree, need advice

chelsea_wright

To any who have advice:

I graduated a few years ago with a BA, focus in photography, GPA 3.11. I have a diverse portfolio, (a good one, I

think), my own website, a great digital slr and am comfortable with my technical skills, in camera and in the

darkroom. I am seeking a master's degree at a school that can help me focus my thoughts and enable me to better

express my mind through my images. I also seek the degree itself.

At present, I find myself overwhelmed trying to choose a school, figure out loans or grants, and get my portfolio

ready for review. I also feel at a loss for information about respected photography and fine art schools and pros

and cons of particular schools. I am concerned about earning an MFA without a BFA. I am concerned about my GPA.

I am open to any and all advice people would like to offer about any of my quandaries. Thank you in advance for

any contributions!

Chelsea, if you don't have a BFA, you might have to take some undergraduate courses along with the graduate courses before the school will confer the MFA. That was the case with my master's in journalism. Many of my graduate classmates were taking undergrad courses simultaneously. It can add a year or more to your curriculum, if the MFA mafia follow that same model. Check on that thoroughly at each school you investigate.

Will

• 2 weeks later...

Chelsea,

I have a MA in Photography from Governors State University in Illinois. This was really an MA in Media Communications

with an emphasis in Photography (48 semester hours/one class of which was in television as a required cognate), but I think

they no longer offer the program. I loved working on my degree and was a graduate assistant and head of their photography

gallery – 3rd largest in the Chicago land area. The best part was going to school with all the other students who were very