Scanning Black and White Negatives

Hi - I'm new to photo.net and this is my first post, so please bear with me.

I've done (what I consider) to be my due diligence and can't find an answer to

this question:

I am getting back into photography after some years and have opted for shooting

and developing B&W film and then scanning into PS from there. I have an older

Pacific Image PF3600 scanner which leaves a bit (a lot) to be desired. I've been

researching newer film scanners and among other things, dust and scratch removal

seems to be the desirable feature on the newer scanners, up there with

resolution, color rendition, etc..

My research has uncovered the fact that Black Ice and other dust/scratch removal

schemes don't work very well with B&W negs due to some inherent characteristic

of the emulsion; Kodachrome positive film seems to fall into this category as well.

So all that preamble just to ask: What is a good scanner for scanning B&W

negatives? I'm not so concerned with method as I am with equipment - I can

figure out method as I go. I am shooting Tri-X film, but will venture into

others with more experience and I'm concerned about dropping dollars on a

scanner whose features will be unusable or unnecessary to me. I'm sure I can

keep my emulsion clean enough that dust and scratch won't be a major problem,

but I'd like to make a good choice based on [someone's] experience rather then

vendor descriptions of their products.

Advice anyone?<div>00Ofb9-42095084.thumb.jpg.2d527216a54639243277d3b3b482e69d.jpg</div>

Philip,

Youre right about dust and scratches removal software not working with traditional B&W film - all the silver grains looks like dust and scratches! C41 B&Ws like Ilford's XP2 work just fine.