Rocky Mountain School of Photography Summer Intensive

terri_penrod

Does anyone know anything about this school or any of its programs?

I'm particularly interested in the summer intensive and digital

intensive programs. The two programs would be over $10,000.00 for

four months. Sounds like a lot of money, but NOT if it is as

described on their website. If anyone can give me any info it will be

greatly appreciated.

I am a 2002 graduate of the Summer Intensive program. I have also attended 2 other

workshops with RMSP.

First of all, bear in mind that you will end up spending much more than $10,000!

Depending on how much equipment you already own and where you live, your expenses

for the 2 programs could add another $5000 or more. (I didn't have any equipment, so I

had to buy everything on the supply list.) There's living expenses, travel, processing...

And then during the course of SI there are more ways to spend more money: visits from

equipment reps with opportunities to buy things at discounted prices, extra workshops,

etc. And if you are at all an equipment junkie, well SI is like a crack den for

photographers! Every class you go through makes you think you need something else. I

came very close to buying a couple different MF cameras, a 4x5 camera, a digital SLR,

strobes, and numerous other things! (I did buy a macro lens, a film scanner and an Epson

1280.)

But to answer your question... SI was an experience I will never forget. I learned a lot, but

it's the people I met and the opportunity to focus on nothing but photography for 3

months that had the greatest impact. I had taken 3 photography courses in college, so I

was familiar with a manual camera and exposure and DOF and things like that. I was

already working at an intermediate level in the darkroom, and being a graphic designer, I

was also already quite familiar with Photoshop. SI draws people with all levels of