retirement banquet photos. D70s + flash

tessa_dallaire1

<p>i am shooting my first event next week for my professors retirement party at a lovely banquet hall in town. i've never done this before and only photograph for a hobby but he likes my photos. i'm not very technically knowledgable so i'm really nervice about lighting and lenses. <br>

i have a bit of gear<br>

i plan to use my d70s with sb-800<br>

i have a couple different types of lenses.</p>

<p>That's a nice complement that you were asked to shoot this. Some things to consider:<br>

- Are you getting paid for this? I only ask because of the expectation of being a paid event photographer versus being just a guy with a camera<br>

- Be ready to use your flash and bring lots of extra batteries for the flash<br>

- Do you have any fast lenses? These would be helpful and depending on how fast and the amount of light, you may be able to get away from not using the flash<br>

- Do you have any wide zooms? These might be useful<br>

- You might want to peruse the wedding forum. There's a lot of good tips in there about shooting events. Think about your shooting style. Do you want to be a fly on the fall, or do you want to be setting up the shots?<br>

- Think about what will happen if a piece of your equipment breaks? Flashes are prone to going bad. <br>

- Get there early. Adjust your while balance. Think about where you will be standing and the shots you want to get<br>

- Consider shooting in Raw in case you need to adjust the white balance later<br>

- If you are also a guest there, don't expect that you'll get to sit down more than a minute or two. It is virtually impossible combining being the photographer and enjoying yourself as a guest<br>

Good luck and try to have fun.</p>

<blockquote>

<p>so i'm really nervice</p>

</blockquote>