I am new to Photo.net and hope to learn a lot. In 2004 I converted

to digital but have 30 years of 35 mm film negatives. I would like

to scan those that are of good quality to digital. I have been

advised that the Epson and HP consumer scanners will yield a

disappointing rendition so would like to use a high quality unit

such as the Nikon Super Coolscan 9000. The purchase price is about

$1800 so I would like to rent one for a month or two as once I am

done, I am done and will likely not need the scanner again. Anyone

know of a place to rent or lease a high quality 35 mm film scanner?

Any other ideas?

Thanx

Pete<div>00Fc71-28756184.thumb.jpg.771e86b2743ca6e3d628e4c868d36d95.jpg</div>

Google?

First match (coolscan rental): http://www.vistek.ca/rentals/rentalequipment.aspx?categoryId=32

But, at $315 a week, you're not saving an awful lot by 2 months.

You'll also go batty trying to do large numbers of scans in a short period of time, it can get tedious very fast.

Also, unless you're planning on 20x30 enlargements, a Nikon Coolscan IV will do. A used US (non-grey-market) one should be pretty affordable by now.

Just think of it as one of the new capital costs, along with Picture Window Pro or Photoshop, a quality monitor, and a monitor calibrator.

You might also consider the Nikon Coolscan 5000 at about half the price of the 9000. If I'm not mistaken the main difference between the two is that the 5000 "only" does 35mm, whereas the 9000 does MF (medium format) as well.

For the cost of renting the thing, you might be better off to just purchase it. When you are done you could recoup a decent fraction of the cost by selling it (ebay or elsewhere). Also, as most people who actually do home scanning can tell you, you may find that the effort to get high quality scans of your old film is more time intensive than you had expected. In that case owning your own scanner and not having to worry about the pressure of a return deadline would be the way to go.

Jeff