Removing Sun Glare from Landscape Image

<p>I'm okay with photoshop as I'm a html/php coder and spend a lot of time splicing and coding designs into valid websites, this however rarely if ever involves photo re-touching so I'd really appreciate some advice into how to best go about removing sunglare from this image.</p>

<p>I've had a few attempts by following tutorials using the heal brush and clone tool etc but I can't seem to get it right. If any of you can offer any help and advice, it'd be really appreciated.</p>

<p>This is a link to the offending image: <a href="http://www.ashshelton.co.uk/photo/southamerica.jpg">http://www.ashshelton.co.uk/photo/southamerica.jpg</a></p><div>00XwCh-315811584.thumb.jpg.caf3476c18fc16a713e03bc14b5ae39e.jpg</div>

<p>If the worst flare wasn't in the middle of the image, I might be tempted to leave it in. This is difficult to fix, but not impossible. It would take me several hours to fix this.</p>

<p>Work at 100%. Clone from nearby areas at 100% opacity. Use several areas or the repetition will be obvious. Then blend the borders at a lower opacity. Somewhat of an oversimplification, I realize, it takes a lot of trial and error to get it right.</p>

<p>Before you do anything, fix the levels. The flare has washed out the entire image.</p>

<div>00XwDG-315815584.jpg.272850a4a74b257b854d65b91da925cd.jpg</div>

<p>Start with The Clarity slider in Adobe Camera Raw that will help a lot withthe general haze factor, and then adjust brightness and Vibrance.</p>

<p>If you use the H/S/L controls in either ACR or Photoshop itself: <br>

In ACR Start with Luminance, then Hue, and only if those don't do the job,turn to Saturation.</p>