red filter for digital camera

<p>I used a red filter which darkened the sky and lightened the clouds to produce dramatic contrast when I used a film camera for my black and white photographs. I'm relatively new to digital cameras so my question is how do I obtain similar results w/ a digital camera? When I downloaded my image and converted them to back and white with photoshop 6.0 and tried to digitally apply a 'red' filter, it only puts a red tint on the photo and not the dramatic contrasts with the sky like my black and white film. Any suggestions? P.S. I'm not very familiar w/ P.S 6.0. Thanks </p>

<p>Not having stated which level of digital camera you are using (p&s/DSLR, Bridge) you may have the ability to take the photo in B&W within the camera. If this is the case, then a couple of things I'd throw out there.</p>

<p>1) There is no reason you still can't use the filters you did for Film on Digital. I have a DSLR and still use filters (ND, ND-grad, Polorizer, color adjusting, etc). No matter what version of photoshop, or the skills you have with the program, the better the picture going in, the better it will be in the end.<br>

2) Some digital cameras in the Bridge and DSLR range will apply the filters for B&W directly to the image when you take it within the firmware of the camera.</p>

<p>A color filter on a digital sensor isn't going to do the same thing as it does with B&W film.<br />With some cameras you can produce B&W images in camera, but you're probably going to have better results taking a color image and converting it to B&W later by one of several methods. The channel mixer, as mentioned above, is one of them with which you can produce results just like, or better than, a red filter on B&W film.<br />I don't think using color adjusting filters on digital is needed. The camera will try to adjust white balance with the filter on, negating its effects. ND, Grad ND, and polarizing filters are the main filters for digital.</p>