Rear Screen Projection

coryblundon

Hi Everybody,

I'm in my second year of a Digital Photography and Imaging college course and I

feel like giving my class a taste of the old school. I want to do a really

classic rear screen projection. Really, I could just shoot a model, shoot a

background and combine them in photoshop. But honestly, I've had enough of

photoshop. Lets hear it for doing things that hard way!

Anyway, I was hoping that someone could give me some tips on how to do a really

classic rear screen projection. I need to know the best way to project, classic

trademark flaws, all that good stuff!

Thanks very much,

Cory

In the old movies, rear projection was USUALLY done against a plastic screen onto which the image was projected THROUGH the screen from behind although you can project from the front with the proper set up. The tricks are to achieve realism with true color and lighting balance, perspective, grain, and movement. It rarely worked

The premier company doing projected backgrounds for Hollywood movies from the 30s through the 70s was called Background Enginners. They had proprietary techniques for preparing transparencies so they would withstand the heat of projection (it takes a ton of light to project a realistic background).

The basic pitfalls are 1. Perspective and hot-spot, you need to project with a long projection lens so the light fall off is minimized due to acute bend angles through the screen material; and 2. Light level balance, in order to realistically light the model in the f/g, the background projection needs to be really, really bright. That requires a large aperture (slide), typically 4X5 or 8X10 and typically an arc lamp behind it.