RAW versus JPEG for weddings. - advice needed

niccoury

Hey everyone,

I usually frequent the Nikon forums, but this question is better here.

So I work as a newspaper PJ during the week and shooting weddings and formal

portraits for my own business and I have a few coming up.

All the formal work I shoot, I shoot RAW files, but my second shooter and I had

a drink last night and were talking and his work is great and I look up to him

as a shooter, but he says he has never gotten into RAW and shoots weddings with

JPEG's and they're fine.

I shoot D2H's and RAW files don't pile up overly quickly being at 4mp, but who

has had experience shooting with both at a wedding?

What works, what doesn't, etc?

Thanks in advance,

~ nic

Yikes. This has been discussed many, many times before. Just check the archives. You will get multiple, opposite answers and if you're lucky, a fight or two will break out. Do what works best for you and clients. That's all. Either one works if you make it work.

For the record, I shoot RAW. I've shot JPEG before. It is do-able and fine. I prefer RAW. It fits me, my workflow and my products.

I'm a RAW shooter myself - I'd be happy if there wasn't even a JPEG option on my camera, so I'm biased - but - my take on it is:

- If you're confident of nailing your exposures everytime - and your white balance is either spot on or you have an easy way to adjust it (ie "CS3 RAW converter!") then there's no overly significant benefit to shooting RAW.

- On the other hand, if you need a bit of lattitude in exposure or white balance adjustment then RAW gives you that.

Think of RAW as being like a safety net. I would suggest that it would be a very brave professional circus performer who performed daring feats without a safety net - on the other hand, if you're only performing a low-rist and low-consequence trick then it may not be needed.

Do you feel lucky today Nic, well do you?