RAW or JPEG for a wedding?

fred508

Never used an S3 but I changed to shooting RAW with my D70 for my wedding portraits because I tested for myself and found that I got a bit more room for adjustment due to a bit more dynanmic range. There is a bit of detail that is recoverable in the higlights just the difference between an empty white and one with some detail. I could not shoot RAW with my old PC (433mhz celeron) because it was far to slow but with a 3ghz P4 it is really fast so now I can enjoy RAW. ALso I like being able to set the white balance in post processing. I still use film when I shoot the ceremony because I find it easier and usualy we just put 6x4 inch prints from the ceremony into an album. I don't shoot many ceremonies here in Finland and film does the job for me just fine.

I shoot with S3's. I bought the camera because of the great reviews for out of camera Jpegs. It boasted little post processing time, because the jpegs were great. I started shooting in jpeg. That is ture if your exposure and white balance are perfect. Then I discovered RAW. With CS2 bridge, it is faster than ever to post process. I can post process my raw files faster than my jpegs. Plus, now I have the added leverage of being able to corect my exposure some. I'll never go back!

I use an S3. The slow RAW writes will KILL you. In wedding work everything moves fast fast fast and there are shots you simply cannot afford to miss.

So I shoot jpeg. I haven't made up my mind if I should be shooting in F1 mode or regular with a d-range of 400. The latter should help prevent blow-outs and underexposures, but you'll still have to run it through PhotoShop to give it enough contrast.

One good thing about the Fuji: as long as you're exposure is correct you can shoot safely at ISO 800. There are times when that's a life-saver. But if you are underexposed 800 will leave you little but noise.

So yes, you can and I do shoot entirely jpeg, but that is due solely to the S3's slow writes.