R2400 B&W prints all of a sudden printing too dark

I've been using the same profile on the same paper with same ink for several months now on my Epson R2400. MIS K4

inks on Moab Kayenta with a professionally made profile. Tonight I am reprinting a set of A4 prints for a client,

so I know just what the original set of prints looked like. But the prints tonight are coming our very black in

the shadows. Simply laying down way too much ink. I've double checked all my settings, and they are the same as

ever.

Does anybody have any ideas of what could be causing this erratic behaviour? Please don't bother to reply with

the stock snarky comments about using "cheap 3rd party inks." I've been using MIS inks for a few years now and,

professionally profiled and with regular head cleanings here and there, they've operate wonderfully for me.

The only thing I can think of is that the Eboni ink bottle was close to the bottom of the bottle when I refilled

it a couple of nights ago. But what would that mean? More pigment in the solution than when the bottle was first

opened?

Mystified. Thanks in advance for your ideas.

I have noticed that when the bottles of ink set for a month or more some of the pigment starts to settle out of the carrier solution. I always shake my ink bottles a few minutes before I open them for refilling. Simular can happen to cartridges that have been allowed to sit for a considerable amount of time which is why Epson says to shake their cartridges before installing them. I would get a fresh bottle of ink, drain and refill the cartridge with the fresh ink then print a copy or two of MIS purge 8 page scalled to paper size and evulate the colors. You can pour some of the new ink into the old bottle, mix well, and pour back into the fresh bottle but that may darken it to a lower tone.