Question for photo editors

I know there are a few on here:

If you are recieving B&W work, and you accept all three (prints, slides,

digital scans) what do you take the most time out to view? I can send any of

the three but want to be sure that I give myself the best chances. I was

thinking prints, as I'm sure an editor is like any of us and appreciates being

able to leave the computer to look and touch something tactile.

I feel that sending inkjet prints and if accepted send the final CD is my best

bet as far as cost, efficiecny, and impact go. I used to send darkroom prints

but found that to take way too much time and materials. The photo editor

says "no preference" but I have a feeling they will prefer one over the other.

I am a photographer not a photo editor although I am playing one while I recover from a new knee. When we have a opening here at our paper we get many people sending in a portfolio for a job. This has been as many as 150. The photo editor has to open the packaging , keep track of the resume and all the paper work and most photographer want their portfolio sent back to them as its a expensive Item to make. This is a royal pain in the butt for a photo editor who is usually over worked as well. In this Digital age, photo editors see thousands of photos every day on a computer screen. I think sending a CD with your images, is the best way to have the photo editor give your photos the time they deserve. You do not say in your question if you are looking to get hired or just looking to be published, I still think a CD with high quality scans on it, is the best answer.I would also send them as JPEGS which can be opened quickly by anyone.

I have helped hire a few photographers, what I look for consistency, quality of work, and is

the work tailored for the publication. If the photographer is not present I prefer a CD. The

main reason I do not have to worry about returning the disc.