question about Hanimex 35SL

I am a rookie to 35mm cameras, and a friend of mine recently cave me a Hanimex

35SL camera (which was his fathers) to use in my photography class. Its a great

camera which also came with two lenses.

my probelm is that i cannot figure out how to remove the lens in order to put

the other lenses on.

if anyone has any knowledge about this camera, please share. the manual is very

brief and does not explain this, and i cannot find it online anywhere.

thanks

If I remember right this is a M42 screw mount, same as the Pentax screw mount and a whole bunch of other cameras of that time. The lens should just unscrew counterclockwise. Does the other lens that came with it have a screw thread at the base about 1 and 5/8 inches diameter? If so then it's an M42 mount.

Kimberly - Hanimex is actually an acronym and was the name of the photographic product importer based in Australia. They never produced any cameras, just rebranded them. A quick search in Google revealed that your Hanimex 35SL is none other than the Chinon 35CS which is screw mount camera in M42 mount, very common in the used camera market and of respected quality. The manual for the Chinon CS which should be identical to your camera can be found on this URL:

http://butkus.org/chinon/chinon/cs/cs.htm

Scroll down to changing the lens section, where you should find the instruction on how to remove the lens. So, you need to push up the exposure switch found on the left hand side of the lens mount, hold it there, and firmly unscew the lens counter clock-wise. Good luck and enjoy your class.