amy_planchet

I am a relatively new freelance photographer, and have been asked to

submit a photography proposal for a web and print-based ad campaign

that will involve architectural and model photography, with travel to

various regional locations. My initial interview with the company was

positive--and they already have my day rates. (Which I based on what I

learned from reading the business forum here.) I'm looking for

examples of proposals, so I can make sure I'm giving them the

information they expect in a format that is easy to understand.

Make sure you put down your day rate, how many days it will take to complete the job + expenses (mileage, ect) and seperate the "fee" from the actual "product" you will be giving them. (prints, cd, ect.) that way you will only have to charge taxes on the prints instead of the whole thing. I'd love to see an example of a proper proposal myself! :)

I think that if you join the ASMP, and probably some other photo organizations they send you forms and paper work right away. In the ASMP paperwork is a very good proposal outline.

I have a simplified proposal outline, I don't have it handy though, sorry.

Off the top of my head, it starts with a shooting fee, based on usage, that is, for web and print. It could be in day rate, or it could just be a number. This is the base number that they will use to compare your service to others, if there are others. If the bid is not competitive, that it, the job is yours, it gets simpler.

Then I break down the expenses, materials, props, and travel costs.

weigh your expenses towards materials, props, and assistants, keep your day rate and travel costs fair and you'll look better than the rest.

I'm sorry I can't post more, someone here should be of more help, if not, go look at the ASMP.

David: Are you related to the folk singer? I'm a David Massengill fan.

Hi guys/gal;

David, I trust my question was not forward, you obviously don't have to answer if you don't care to.