Praktica Super TL - need help fixing film advance lever

<p>Hello all, I have a "Hanimex" Praktica Super TL I bought new in 1974 (I saved my lunch money for an entire school year to buy it). After a few years, the film advance lever stopped springing back to the rest position after winding a frame and has to be moved back manually. Once in a while, for reasons that are a mystery to me, it'll work properly for a few frames but inevitably malfunctions again. If the shutter is released before the lever is moved home, it will spring back with force. </p>

<p>Here's a youtube video showing the problem: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FNMs79W0gs </p>

<p>I want to fix this once & for all, and while I'm at it, give the old girl a well-deserved tune-up. I studied some of the tutorials online but none give me confidence to attack the advance lever assembly. A repair manual would be ideal but I've had no luck finding one online. Any ideas?</p>

<p>Best,<br>

Russell</p>

<p>I had a similar problem once. Please try and Prise open the indicator plate in the center of the wind-on lever. You can do it with a sewing needle. It is simply stuck on. You will find a nut with two pin holes. It may be loose. Try tightening with an appropriate tool. I hope it solves the problem. It did in my Praktica.<br>

While you are at it also clean and lubricate that cavity. It seems that the wind-on lever in the Praktica is connected in a complex way to the film speed dial and the shutter release. So, when it is loose it seems to affect everything.<br>

Craig's camera used to sell repair manuals published by Hanimex Corporation. You may try Craig's for one. Best of luck. Let us know if you are successful. sp.</p>

• 2 weeks later...