POLE... Should I stay or should I go now?

Discussion in 'Canon EOS' started by rj russell, Nov 24, 2008.

1. This is going to be another fullframe vs. crop pole, with the emphasis that many have started out where I have and
    question the same things, also many of you have already made your move and can advice from both sides of the
    fence.

Basically 1.5 years I entered the DSLR world with an XTi bundled with the 18-55kit and a 75-300 lens. Since then I
    spent a great deal of time reading about and practising photography and have added a 50 f1.4 for portraits and a
    Sigma 10-20 for fun and drama! I am a hobby photographer and match the craft to my lifestyle which includes hiking,
    backpacking and basically all forms of out door travel. Landscapes are my pasion and I do love shooting in lowlight.
    I also do a great deal of family and party shots.

Now the catch is... The 5D sounds about right for me but at a tremendous cost, 2600 for 5D & 24-105L. This would
    give the good wide to tele zoom I crave and my portrait lens would now be a fast normal, and I would have to save yet
    again to get back into my beloved ultrawides.

On the other hand be a strictly hobby photographer I could continue with crop sensors and forget about FF. In this
    case I would go out and buy the 17-55 asap (I am desperate to replace the kit with a quality lens of similar focal
    range), having a fairly good system that would keep me shooting for now and eventually move up to 40 or 50D
    adding maybe the sigma 30 f1.4, a 70-200 and perhaps a macro lens.

So what do you all believe the future holds? Is it wise to invest in more crop body lenses? will crop sensors
    compete with FF in low light and image quality in the future? What paths have you taken and why?

Cheers,

Ryan

2. If you got the cash, buy the best toys you can afford. And, if low light is your thang, FF is king. Why furt around? Enjoy life