Polarizers for portraits?

sting1

im no expert on this but i only use polorizers for two reasons: 1. to cut down reflections 2. to darken a blue sky... great for the deep blues in the sky or black if u go B&W.

in your case i think its a matter of preference. if it looks good ten does it matter?

Thanks for the answers. I am not opposed to doing my own tests and fully plan on doing so. I just wanted to check and see if there were any "rules" of portraits that said you should ALWAYS use a polarizer or you NEVER use a polarizer. I just didn't want to waste frames but I was assuming it would be a matter of preference. Like I said though, the reason I ask it because there are "rules" or photography that I am always free to break but are accepted by about 95-99% of quality photographers--I don't know all these general rules so just wanted to ask. It sounds like there is no 99% overwhelming opinion for or against their use, so I'll try both and use my own personal preference. Thanks for the help!

I'm pretty new to portraits but keep getting drafted by people to do portrait

pictures. I just got my first filters and have some polarizers now. I was just

wondering if polarizers have any role in outdoor portrait photography. I know

this may be a matter of preference, but since I'm new to portraits and

polarizers, I was just wondering if people always use them, never use them, or

if I should shoot some with and some without and decide later (I realize this

is the safest thing, but I don't want to waste my time if some of you portrait

experts tell me you NEVER use a polarizer). I will be shooting one person's

shots later today. The sky is pretty overcast and grey, if that matters. Also,

I have Hoya polarizers--one HMC and one Moose's Warming for the lens I'll be

using. Any and all advice is appreciated--if you're reading this then you

probably have more knowledge than myself and I'd love to hear your advice!

Thanks!