Please help me with white background lighting!

<p>Hello, <br>

I am relatively new to studio work. I love the look of a pure white background and have been researching how to do it for a few weeks in my spare time. Anyway, I got a light stand and a white muslin background. I also got 1 Alien Bees B800 strobe and a medium size Paul C. Buff softbox. I set the muslin up today in a roughly 20 x 20 room with a few windows. The muslin is wrinkled up pretty bad, but I had read that that is not a problem with enough light thrown at it. If it makes a difference, the muslin is 10x20. Anyway, I attached the softbox to the B800 and cranked it up to full power. I had it of to one side of the backdrop feathered as evenly as possible over the entire backdrop. The light reading was at like f20 in the middle and f18 towards far side. I shoot a D90, so the lowest ISO I can really go is 200. So that is 1/250 at f20. What was weird was that in order to get a completely blown out background, I had to shoot it at f8. So...then I placed a large item I am selling on ebay in front of the background. That metered at like f2.8 with ambient light, so that's where I shot it. The result was AWFUL. The top of the item was blown out. The front of the item was underexposed to the point that you could see all the wrinkles in the muslin under it, etc... So, I figured I would try something else. I put my old D70 on a tripod and placed it about 10 feet in front of the backdrop. I took some shots of it. It was so..."milky" is what comes to mind...but better than the previous shots. When I played with the aperture value, I was either too dark or too light. Nothing seemed to work. The worst part of it all is this really annoying "ghosting" I think it's called...in my lens. I figured it was coming from the light box, but I moved further back and shot, and it actually got worse. What am I doing wrong? I have my first shoot with a model this Friday coming up, so I really need to get this down by then. If th