PLEASE HELP - CANON 40D PHOTOS NOT GOOD NIKON D60 BETTER?

Discussion in 'Canon EOS' started by rico_barone, Dec 29, 2008.

1. Hi Everyone,
    I am just getting into DSLR photograpy and am starting a course in early January. After reading many reviews, I decided to go with a mid-level camera and chose the Canon 40D which has received many great reviews, looks like a prosumer camera due to its size, and is offered at great pricing right now. A photography magazine rated it a "Steal for 2008".

I added a Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 DiII Autofocus Lens and thought I had a pretty good kit. On December 27th (this past weekend), my cousin and his wife came over to our home with a Nikon D60 and 18-55mm kit lens. Sitting in the same place in our dining room, I took two shots. One with their D60 and one with my 40D. Both cameras were set to *Full Auto* mode. I was shocked at the results. The D60 photo appeared to be properly color balanced and very crisp (especially when magnified to 100%). My 40D shots looked red and blurry.

I began scouring various forums and read that the 40D has had issues with autofocus. So, I quickly took my camera back to the retailer (although I'm 5 days over the 30 day return period) and they exchanged it with another brand new body. I obviously cannot replicate the same scene with the subject that was here for dinner :) but the red color looks the same and it still does not appear to be as sharp as the Nikon photos when enlarged to 100%.

I am not sure what to do. I don't know if it's a lens issue (the Tamron lenses also have some reviews stating that some copies are "soft" and need to be sent back to Tamron for calibration), or perhaps it's the 40D?