Photo Contests (that don't suck)

(I posted this under the "Contests" forum, but the thread doesn't show up under

the unified forum view so I don't think anyone will see it at all.)

Winning a photo contest is a nice way to get some good exposure and make some

money. As a student, I always keep my eye open for contests as the money that

comes from them really helps with school fees and materials to keep producing

work. When I first started, I'd send work to anything I came across, even

contests with excessive entry fees; I didn't even read the fine print, so I had

no idea if I was giving up my rights.

Lately, I've come across many contests that just aren't worthwhile. Entry fees

with no cash prizes involved, excessive entry fees with small cash prizes,

contests that state you give away your rights by participating, etc. etc. There

must be a few good ones out there? Or is this what the world of photo contests

has come to? I'd like to start a list of worthwhile contests and share them

with the photo.net community so we can save our time sifting through the junk.

• 2 weeks later...

in reply to William Kahn who wrote:

"Here's one I just learned about. I checked these guys out before, and they're legit: http://www.c4fap.org/call_for_entries.asp"

Mmmm, yes, the Center for Fine Arts Photography is legit (i.e., it's not a front for another less reputable organization or individual). I examined their entry specifics and a few things caught my attention:

"Members" of the organization (btw, it's very much a private, individually-led organization) can enter three images for $20. Non-members must pay $35 for the entry of three images. The winner's photograph(s) will be published in the organization's print publication (or maybe it's just an online 'publication,' I'm not sure). If you win (as first place, second place, honorable mention, etc.) these will probably be published as well.