and SVA in NYC. SVA is really out of the question for me , its very expensive

and I didn't get much AID. Parsons has offered me a scholarship for half the

tuition , which is good and FIT is a State school , and I received AID so it

will cost very little.

But what I really need to know is which school, Parsons or FIT would be the

better choice for Photography? Any help, suggestions , input would be very much

appreciated.

Thanks

I'm not 100% sure yet what I want to do when I finish college. I have many interest right now. Perhaps commercial, fashion or photojournalism. I'm also very interested in Graphic design.

My passion is music, my dream, Rolling Stone..LOL

I went to visit Parsons again yesterday, I love the school but will it make a difference if I go there or FIT..will I get a better education?

I have to make a decision within a few days..this is hard.

I'm also a good student 3.7 GPA, with a few AP classes.

Please advise

Alexandra, I think the greatest potential benefit from your advanced education will come

from the variety of things you will potentially be exposed to. Parsons will offer you NYC,

which is a truly rich environment for a student. You will have access to far more useful

internships and insights into the real world of professional photography and design.

Keep in mind that your success after college will depend largely on your experience in the

working world, what you've learned about business realities, and your connections. I'm

taking talent for granted, because that is a basic requirement.

David's point about business studies is a perfectly valid one. When I was considering

Brooks Institute for grad school, a few working photographers at the stock agency I was

doing photo research for told me to take the money I would spend on Brooks and spend it

shooting and on getting a business up and running. In other words, for a self-employed

professional photographer, formal education has its limits of usefulness, whereas practical