Hi, I was hoping for more comments along with the low ratings on this

shot, I'm VERY new to flash as fill or anything else. In this shot, I

had to use the F-80's built in as a fill flash, and personally dislike

the shadow. The ear is a little too red from a tad too much beer

consumption at the event where I shot this. I'd REALLY like to know if

these are what bothers people about this shot, or if there are other

things that people are seeing.

Comments?<div>00A98Q-20499784.jpg.79c6067dea15353d23c6cc9fb4823a3a.jpg</div>

I have to wonder what you see in the shot too, Alton. I rarely if ever critique anyone's work here - I'm certainly my own worst critic. But this looks almost like an accident, where the photographer hoped to catch the face, but the subject turned her head. Since you can't see her face, there's little to no emotion conveyed - just an ear and some hair. Put it this way: If you were a painter, would you paint your subject this way? Of course, all photographic interpretation is purely subjective so if you like the shot, that's all that counts! Best wishes . . .

You have other work that's quite interesting, so I look at this being simply a test shot or an experiment. I think it's an example of the problems of fill-flash up close, with too much flash. Outside, I usually set my fill flash to -2, so it's really just there to give a bit of catchlight and slightly brighten shadows. This shot would be more interesting with either (A) less or no fill-flash or (B) directional flash from the side. I'm not really commenting about the side of the head aspect, if she'd rotate her head a bit, it might be an interesting shot, but it seems you're trying to test ear shadows and such here.