Online proofing / sales reviews

bscphoto

<p>I am actually a web developer who is married to a talented photographer. I currently run and manage our own e-commerce solution for our online proofing and I personally like it because it's super easy for the client.<br>

90% of the stuff thats out there (smug mug, zenfolio, collages) all have supposed "open api's" yet none of them are particularly suited towards making a website to SELL pictures. While you can pull images from here and there and display them however you want, you can't manage the way the customer buys their pictures and this is a problem! I read comment after comment that all photographers (and probably their clients) are complaining that it's ridiculously hard to find the "buy this print now" button!<br>

<br />On my website it's super easy simply because its set up exactly like any other online shopping experience. You find your category, put in your password, are displayed with a list of "products" which you can browse through.. You can click on a photo and be brought to the product page with the list of sizes where you simply fill out the number of each size and click "ADD TO CART"<br>

Why is there nothing like this for photographers thats a service? An actual photo shopping cart versus some obscure version of online proofing and buying.<br>

<br />Does anyone out there know of any type of service that has this? OR does anyone know of a service that has an open enough API that I can connect with the cart to send info to it? I tried smug mug's api but again, its all about display and nothing to do with purchases.</p>

<p>Most of the ones that you mentioned don't want you mucking around with their site branding or layouts - they want customers to know that they are on a Smugmug or Zenfolio or PhotoReflect site. Especially around the purchase / cart part of things. </p>