OM-2n replace viewfinder eyepiece

lucyv

Hi, Newbie here. I'm moving on from a beginner Pentax k1000 to an OM-2n I got on ebay. I like a DIY project so it's a bit battered but might end up functional!

My viewfinder eyepiece is cracked - the actual glass nearest the eyeball, not the focusing screen. I've seen the foam removal instructions which also discuss eyepiece removal at Removing the Foam Around the Prism of an OM-1/OM-2 but I wondered what the cheapest option is to find the replacement part? Do I need to buy a spares and repair OM-2n or will other OM's do the trick? Or can I just buy an eyepiece bit from someone?

Thanks .. and Olympus' are fun!

Lucy

I will do! Also, in case anyone finds this thread with a similar question - I discovered (thanks to The Olympus Hardware Resource Page for the service manuals) the eyepiece glass (part number ZC107800) is the same for the OM-2N and the OM10. So, in theory I think I could have snagged an OM10 for a slightly cheaper replacement part. Still, I'm glad to have a 2nd OM-2N to take apart before I mess with my prettier 'main'!

I will do! Also, in case anyone finds this thread with a similar question - I discovered (thanks to The Olympus Hardware Resource Page for the service manuals) the eyepiece glass (part number ZC107800) is the same for the OM-2N and the OM10. So, in theory I think I could have snagged an OM10 for a slightly cheaper replacement part. Still, I'm glad to have a 2nd OM-2N to take apart before I mess with my prettier 'main'!

Hi Lucy,

Your quite correct in that the eyepiece from an OM10 will work, the replacement is quite easy, you will need to remove the top cover first though and the prism so you have good access to the eyepiece, with the top cover off and the prism out of the way I have found the easiest way to replace this is;

Keep the eyepiece housing screws in place

Hold each side of the camera with your hands with the camera positioned on a firm base such as a table