Nikon D7000 - Picture Control values

panayotis_papadopoulos

<p>Hello beautiful people of the Nikon forum!<br>

I must say that reading your articles and advices, I learned a lot of useful things that helped me improve my skills. Actually I am an amateur photographer with a lot of enthusiasm when it comes to taking pictures. I photograph everything that attracts my attention/curiosity no matter what the subject is. If I had to choose though, I would say that I am more to nature/landscapes and lately urban and street photography.<br>

Anyhow, I just moved from a D80 to a D7000 (after struggling for one month with the dilemma, D7000 or D300s) due to newer and better (overall) camera and IQ. I am in the learning proccedure and quite amazed with my new camera, even though I must say I like better the grip and the overall sense of my D80 in my hands...am I crazy? :)<br>

I just need your kind advice as to what are the best values when it comes to adjust the parameters of the picture control (sharpening, contrast, brightness, saturation and hue). Default values are positioned to 0 besides sharpness which is at +3. If this has already been posted elsewhere (for the D7000) and I have missed it, please forgive my overlooking of the article. In that case a link to this article would be greatly appreciated, otherwise your experience and knowledge are higly appreciated.<br>

Thanking you in advance!<br>

Panayotis</p>

<p>I guess it depends on the effect you want to achieve and whether or not you are shooting in RAW.</p>

<p>When I am shooting just jpegs I generally prefer the unaltered NEUTRAL setting (on my D90).</p>

<p>When I am shooting RAW (99% of the time) it doesn't matter because I can adjust all the picture controls afterwards in ViewNX2 or CaptureNX2.</p>