Nikon and SB-400

liah_glask

<p>Friends,<br>

Im a newbie and I'm planning to buy my new DSLR which will be one of Nikon D3000 or D3100 or D5000. i want to use Nikon SB-400 with any of the above cameras but in a off-camera mode. i know it is not that easy. so please tell me how to do it, with any other supporting devices or cords or any other methods.</p>

<p>thanx.</p>

<p>There is no way apart from a sync cord. What you want to do with those cameras and that flash can not be done.</p>

<p>If you want your flashes way off camera and you must be wireless, you'll need to invest in a Nikon flash or flash controller that can be a CLS master PLUS an off-camera flash that can be a slave. SB900(or SU800)/SB600 combo would work. There are others as well.</p>

<p>And don't forget that the SB-400, when mounted in the hot shoe, can't be used for an overhead bounce when the camera's in a vertical orientation. If you shoot with the camera rotated to portrait position, the SB-600/800/900 (and upcoming 700) can swivel to accommodate. The SB-400 is basically like a pop-up flash that you can rotate to bounce from a ceiling, but only as long as you're in landscape orientation, or want to juggle cables. It does have the charm of being small, light, and inexpensive - but you have to balance that against its considerable limitations.</p>

<p>While Matt is correct, you can use it for portrait orientation if you use a bracket and cord. Also available are 'dummy' flashes that can work off camera without a cord. If you are going to do a lot of off camera flash work or require multiple flash use, you may want to consider a slightly different setup than what you are proposing.</p>

<p>The SB-400 is an excellent general purpose flash and, because of its size and weight, is well suited to the bodies you list. I enjoy using it whenever I don't feel like carrying around the larger/heavier flash units.</p>