Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED VR ...worth it?

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by caleb_gonzalez, Jun 22, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I have the opportunity to get a Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED VR.
    I'm new to DSLR, I just got a D7k with a 18-105 kit and I sure find myself missing a lot of shots because the lack of reach. I'm not really a nature man but I do trips with my family and I'm starting a collection of my daughters favorite animals, views, etc. (...and eventually would like sell them when a worthy one comes).
    Thing is, I've read this is not a very updated lens, and not fast enough for some situations (I don't do sports). Do you think it is worth the investment or should I go for a 70-300 instead? (I mean, there is almost a 1k of difference in price). I've read posts saying that maybe nikon would update the 80-400.
    I'm talking about new lenses. I wouldn't like to venture on used ones while I can't recognize good from bad. Any advice?
    Thanks.
    klv.

2. Caleb - I have this lens, and have used it on a safari in Africa and for other wildlife photos. It is not the fastest focusing lens, as I am sure you have read on the 'net, and mine occasionally hunts to focus. But I find it a reasonably sharp lens, when I do my part. It has VR, and that does work, but it can also lull you into trying shots at slower shutter speeds and I have found sharpness can suffer if you go below about 1/200 a second. That will vary, of course, from person-to person depending on technique. I have read rumors this lens is due for an update. If you want the reach out to 400mm, this is the most cost effective option. For animal "portraits" I find the lens acceptable, and most of the Africa wildlife photos I have posted on photo.net were taken with this lens. If you are looking to photograph action, I would consider other alternatives. Here is a decent review of the lens - http://www.bythom.com/80400VRlens.htm.

3. ShunCheung

ShunCheung Administrator