Nikon 80-200 f4 + Nikon TC-200

Hello. Im planing to pair Nikon 80-200 f4 Ais + Nikon TC-200 teleconverter, so I was wondering is this combination going to work? My biggest concern is that Im getting (if Im right) 160-400mm f8. That f8 is biggest concern for me. I guess that I will have to use it only in bright sunny day, so I can manage to get at least 1/400 for handhold shots. Right? And I have one silly question, because I have never used teleconverters before. Im familiar that x1.4 change aperature for one stop, and x2 changes it for 2 stops. So, if my lens aperature is at 4, and I put x2 converter, I will get f8. But, is lens going to performance good as stoped down to f8 without converter? Or it's going to performance as f4, but with less light (f8). Im little confused. Thank you.

I have no experience with the lenses you mention, but have had a 80-200, and a 1.4TC. I never felt compelled to use it, as the 80mm difference isn't very big. The loss in image quality, and the loss of 1 stop, to me makes it hardly worth it. Consider also that it makes it harder to use the lens hand-held, as you've got to compensate for that stop, while using a longer lens.

Teleconverters usually do not play too well with zoom lenses, and are really better on long primes. If you really want a longer lens, I'd see to get a 300mm f/4 or f/4.5, or the 400 f/5.6 AiS. They'll simply be better than a zoom with TC, though of course not as cheap.

• Like 1

Yeah, Im just reading about that. Lot of image quality has been lost by using teleconverter. 80-200 f4 Ais is a great lens. Sharp at f4, but one stop higher, at f5.6 is sharp like knife. You are right, 80mm doesn't make big difference. Im considering that Nikon that You said. I have found one Nikon 300mm f4.5 Ais for ~160 euros. It's around 170 dollars. Not too expencive. I will try to manage to try it, I check it for dust/fungus. But Im quite sure that lens is a monster.