Nikon 80-200 2.8 vs 70-210 at F8

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by hugh_sakols, Jun 7, 2009.

1. Is there any difference in optical quality between the Nikon 80-200 ED 2.8 and the 70-210 4-5.6 AT F8 and above. As a landscape photographer I'm not really concerned with wide open quality. I've read Ken Rockwell's review but I'd like to hear from others who have made the comparison. I always use a sturdy tripod. I guess what I'm asking is whether I'm wasting money expecting an improvement using the more expensive lens if I don't need the extra speed. My 70-210 seems quite sharp but I find I have to be extremely careful focusing even at infinity.
    Thanks,
    Hugh
    www.yosemitecollection.com

2. Hugh,
    I'm sure there are differences, but I'll say you've managed quite well with that 70-210.
    The weight difference could be a factor.
    Great gallery.

3. Hiro
    Thanks for the kind words. Not that you can tell on the web, but most of those images were taken with medium format. However, I now have quite a few new images that someday I will add to my galleries.

4. A few years ago Popular Photography's Herbert Keppler wrote about the difference between pro & consumer lenses. PopPhoto's test results for the 80-200 AF-S and plastic 80-200 f/4.5-5.6D were shown, and at f/8 they performed virtually the same.
    So, if you're into shooting on a tripod at smaller apertures there's likely no need to spend more on a lens.

5. Hugh, you might find the review of these lenses at Photozone helpful:
    http://www.photozone.de/
    I have the 80-200mm 2.8 (two-ring) and absolutely love it. Even wide open at 2.8, it's a great lens.