Nikon 80-200 2.8 vs 70-210 at F8

hugh_sakols

<p>Is there any difference in optical quality between the Nikon 80-200 ED 2.8 and the 70-210 4-5.6 AT F8 and above. As a landscape photographer I'm not really concerned with wide open quality. I've read Ken Rockwell's review but I'd like to hear from others who have made the comparison. I always use a sturdy tripod. I guess what I'm asking is whether I'm wasting money expecting an improvement using the more expensive lens if I don't need the extra speed. My 70-210 seems quite sharp but I find I have to be extremely careful focusing even at infinity. <br>

Thanks,<br>

Hugh<br>

www.yosemitecollection.com</p>

<p>A few years ago Popular Photography's Herbert Keppler wrote about the difference between pro & consumer lenses. PopPhoto's test results for the 80-200 AF-S and plastic 80-200 f/4.5-5.6D were shown, and at f/8 they performed virtually the same.</p>

<p>So, if you're into shooting on a tripod at smaller apertures there's likely no need to spend more on a lens.</p>

<p>I can second the quality of the 80-200 f/2.8, it's a great lens. But at F/8, all lenses start to be equal indeed. My 80-200, it's not 10 times greater than the 10 times cheaper 70-300G I also have (at the same focal length - the 70-300 is quite bad above 200mm). So, it's better, but certainly not dramatically so. A bit of added contrast in an image editor, and it's very close again.</p>

<p>And as far as I've heard, the 70-210 is better than the 70-300G. So, for your intended use, I doubt whether it would be worth your money.</p>

<p>One thing does make the 80-200 better, though, and that's how it feels. It's big and rather heavy, but it feels rock solid and zooming and focussing feel exactly right to me.</p>

<p>That is, apparently, exactly the question.</p>