Nikon 200mm micro vs Canon 180mm macro

jay dougherty

I'm in the enviable (I suppose) position of being able to choose a

long macro lens for the work I do. I can use either Canon or Nikon.

What I'm wondering is, after reading all the threads that deal with

either but not both together, which one is better? Has anyone used

both and walked away with a preference?

A partical answer. In chooseing between the Pentax and Nikon 200mm macros (Manual focus lenses) I went with Pentax. It was one of my main reasons for sticking with the Pentax system actually. Sorry, can't help you with Canon though.

I would guess that very few people would be so familiar with both of these lenses that they can give you an informative answer. I have been using the Nikon 200mm/f4 AF for several years and it is an excellent lens, but I would imagine that the Canon lens is excellent as well. Any quality difference is probably insignificant. I think it is more like which camera system or which camera body you are happier with.

Since we are talking about macro shots, do you need mirror lock up? Among current Nikon bodies, only the F5 has real mirror lock up, but you can get that with the F4, F3 or some much older bodies such as the Nikkormat FT3, etc. MLU is available on more Canon bodies and for good reasons some people prefer the way the Canon mirror lock up works since Nikon forces you to use the all manual M mode with MLU. If you really specalize in macro, that kind of difference could be decisive. And of course if you have any plans to move onto digital SLRs, there are a lot of differences too.