Newspaper wants to use my photos

<p>Hi, </p>

<p> Recently I answered a post to work as a freelancer for a local newspaper, it is a free, 6 page publication in need of photographers. I spoke with the editor and after taking a look at my portfolio he told me he actually wanted to do a 2 page spread, one page with photos I have already taken to showcase and the other with photos they would like for me to take around the area. They want to pay me 20 dollars per photo (its my first time working with a newspaper and would like to know if this is fair) but where my main question comes in is, how would I handle the copyright for the images I have already taken and they wish to use in their article, and also what kind of copyright agreement would I use to work with them, I would like to maintain the rights to the images I take while I shoot future assignments since they want me to photograph upcoming events as well. Is this possible or do newspapers always ask for a work for hire contract. I am trying to find out as much information before I actually go through with any of this so I want to make sure I ask the proper questions and make sure I negotiate correctly before proceeding.</p>

<p>Thank You<br>

-Gabriel</p>

Gabe, congratulations on getting started in the world of photo journalism. . . There are mountains of posts

here on photo.net about pricing, work for hire, business of photography, how much to charge, contracts,

copyright, etc., start by doing some digging . . . Second, and depending on how you learn, maybe first,

go check out the American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP) site . . . they also produce a book

called, "professional business practices in photography," get a copy and read it. . . Google is also your

friend. Google "business of photography" "photojournalism business" "how to run a photography business"

"how much should i charge," and so on . . . Start with a better foundation of the issues, then come back