New to Wedding Photography, Pointers would be Helpful!

sudol

I volunteered to take one of my friends Wedding on March 1st of this year. Now,

I have never done a wedding before, but the bride feels I have enough skill and

will do a fine job. I have a Nikon D80 with a DX 18-70mm and a D series lens 28-

200. I also have an SB-600 flash and the Gary Fong Lightsphere and Origami.

Does anyone out there have an pointers or website or even sample pictures to

help me get an idea of what I should shoot for this wedding. The ceremony is

outside in a garden and the reception is inside an old library building that is

now rented out. Any help or pointers would be greatly apprecaited.

Mike

I'm sure you will be directed to some resources but you should seriously consider telling her to reconsider or actually decline altogether. Wedding photography is a specialized field and the photographs will be the one part of the wedding will last a lifetime unlike food, flowers and music ect. Please tell us that top dollar isn't being spent on all that other stuff while the photography is farmed out to someone who has to(with all due respect to your talents in general and willingness to help) ask others to "get an idea" of what to do.

BTW, Is she going to rent or buy you back up equipment which is considered mandatory insurance of sorts for anyone shooting a wedding?