Need Videography Basics to get Started ...

gloria_hopkins

Hi all: I was asked if I would do some digital videography for a

company that distributes movies and documentaries of all

kinds worldwide. They want me to do some wildlife, nature and

possibly travel documentaries and "shorts" that will ultimately be

sold via the internet (and at film festivals.)

Although they are aware that I do not have experience shooting video,

they made the offer based on the fact that I learned how to

take a decent photograph quickly and they say they are confident that

I could do the same with video.

This is an unbelievable opportunity for me and one that I am finding

extremely difficult to find anything to object to. I already have

ideas for the docus and I am excited!

My problem is that I have no knowledge of digital videography - at

all. I need to research everything from the camera and lenses to

tripods and whatever else I need to physically make the movies. As

far as I know, I will only be doing the photography, not the editing

or "post shutter" preparation. They are purchasing all of the

equipment for me and the budget is wide open.

While I am excited and ecstatic, I'm also scared to death and very

nervous. I'm a little overwhelmed with the new terminology and

equipment required and don't know where to start. If anyone has any

ideas or pointers for me about where and how to get started, I would

greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,

Gloria

Gloria you may want to check out Videomaker magazine. You should be able to find past months issues at the library. They have alot of good basic knowledge every month.