Dear friends,

I calibrated my monitor using MonacoEasyColor system, and then created a

printer profile with it as well. After that, I edited the printer profile with

the software and adjusted the monitor to more closely match the sample

photograph (my goal, obviously was to get as close a match b/w the monitor and

the printer output as possible). Now, do I have to do the same printer editing

process again after I re-calibrate my monitor periodically? What is the minimum

recommended re-calibration frequency? I am not a pro, so for me, the less

frequently, the better. Thank you for your help.

lots of variables there Michael. Monitors are affected by lots of things. If you are starting to see some colors that are not to your liking then of course its time, but knowing what your monitor type and its other uses play into that. Are you using an LCD display or a CRT? What type of connection, graphics card? Are other applications running on the machine? Are their other people using the monitor for intensive graphics applications, doe the monitor have a screen saver, does it stay on one image for long periods of time when you are away? Its really difficult to make a recommendation, your eyes are the only real test that matters.

You should not "adjust" the monitor to match the print. That defeats the purpose of calibrating the monitor. Instead, use a print profile for the particular paper, inkset and printer you are using.

Monitor and printer profiles are separate and independent. The monitor profile applies corrections so that image files are displayed correctly. The printer profile applies corrections while printing so that image files are printed correctly.

You must know how to correctly apply these profiles in your system and software. This will vary with your software.

<I>I calibrated my monitor using MonacoEasyColor system, and then created a printer

profile with it as well. </I><P>Good and okay if it works for you but I hope you profiled