Misused photo sparks $150K lawsuit

catchlight

<p>A Quebec man is suing a Canadian magazine for damages after they ran his photo with a story about wife-killers. The photographer is also named in the suit, but might be safe from paying damages if he no longer owns the rights to the image.</p>

<p>What a strong reminder to anyone in publishing to ensure that images do not depict and defame innocent people. It will be interesting to see how this plays out, although i suspect an out-of-court settlement will be reached.</p>

<p><a href="http://www.montrealgazette.com/news/Châtelaine+sued+150K+over+picture/2423106/story.html">http://www.montrealgazette.com/news/Châtelaine+sued+150K+over+picture/2423106/story.html</a></p>

<p>Good point. This is why accurate captions are crucial! As an editorial stock photographer I know that the publishers I work with in the US and abroad depend on me to provide them with accurate information about the images they license from me.<br /> <br /> Very poorly handled by both the magazine and whoever authorized the usage it seems, based on the article.</p>

<p>I took a lot of photos in my town when Public Enemies was being filmed (Johnny Depp and the rest of the cast, in fact I was the very first person to have a photo of Johnny Depp arriving on set ANYWAY, sold 6 to a glossy Japanese mag . . .but I digress - what I'm getting at is the 2nd location the movie was filmed in took a photo of JD (not mine) and used it to promote their town. OOPS! Universal did not appreciate this and there was some major $$ exchanged.<br>

What surprised me was the lack of knowledge, just like the Montreal gazette - what we take for granted as knowledge is not always the case with none photographers.<br>

On a side note - Universal plays real hard ass and hard ball with photographers.</p>

<p><em>The photographer is also named in the suit, but might be safe from paying damages if he no longer owns the rights to the image.</em></p>