Medium v High Contrast - Lenses for Black & White?

nigel_pollitt

<p >Recently, during the course of reading a lens review I was interested by a comment to the effect that for black and white (b&w) photography a high resolution MEDIUM contrast lens may well be preferable to a high resolution HIGH contrast lens. As I understand it, the argument is that a high contrast lens may cause some of the tonal range which is vital for b&w work to be lost i.e. ‘blown out’.</p>

<p > <br>

This set me thinking as, for a while, I have been considering shooting some black and white film instead of my usual colour work. It’s over twenty years since I last shot b&w and so I’m basically a novice in this medium. Looking at my own FD / FD-compatible lens collection the vast majority of them fall into the high contrast category, in some cases VERY high contrast (e.g. FDn 35 / F2). I was therefore wondering if any members out there, particularly members with experience of b&w, can recommend lenses which they consider are particularly suited to b&w work. I am especially interested in lenses in the wide to standard range. I’d also be interested in comments on whether the assertion that medium contrast lenses are more suited to black and white photography is a valid one.</p>