Low-light indoor photography

tawanda

I am new to photography and totally love it.A couple of months ago i went to shoot at a function that was being held

in a hotel hall at night.The lighs were deemed, like most entertainment awards.I struggled with light and at that time i

started shooting on automatic mode as i didnt know the best settings at that moment.

I couldn't get the camera to focus and thereby producing unflattering photos.I am going to shoot in a similar

environment next week, and would like to know the best way to deal with light and focusing.I am using a canon 450d

with the standard lens it comes with, 70-300mm Tamron lens , 105mm f2.8 DG Macro Sigma lens and a Jessops

external flash gun.

With the tools i have above, please help me take flattering pictures by telling me exactly how i can get my camera to

do this.Thank you in advance.<div>00RTsD-88205584.jpg.5a58b7a2eea6afdd7de1ff4b804d0e33.jpg</div>

Manual focus. Autofocus cameras don't have the focusing aids you use to find in manual focus cameras, but it's not that hard. Unless you're dealing with movement, you should be able to focus quickly enough by hand and get good results.

You can also try an old wedding photographer's trick: prefocus and set up for a good exposure at a certain distance (e.g. 10 feet) and then physically move yourself forward or back until your subject is that distance (e.g. 10 feet). That way you don't have to refocus or redo your exposure settings.

Indoor flash photography is one of the most difficult things to do well. The polished "look" of indoor photography is what separates the experienced pros and serious amateurs from 99% of the rest of us.