Lighting for Nude Shoot

isaiah_corey

<p>I'm an amateur photographer working my way up, and I just got hired by a friend to do a nude set for Suicide Girls. I know my stuff, but when it comes to lighting, I don't.</p>

<p>My question is what would be the best lighting set up for this type of shoot? It'll be indoors with not much natural light. I've considered using a ring flash because I like the style and it would save on renting costs, but I also want to try using strobes or something of the sort.</p>

<p>Any insight is much appreciated.</p>

<p>A couple or three strobes with large soft boxes will do the job. That will give you the capability for lighting the entire body. You might also consider having grids on the boxes to control light spill. You will need background lights (strobes) if you are planning on doing a lit white background. The ring flash will give a fairly flat light for the foreground if that is what you want. Side lighting with the soft boxes can give a more dramatic shadowed effect. (standard comment to read "Light Science and Magic" insert here) Also the Strobist archives lighting 101 http://strobist.blogspot.com/2006/03/lighting-101.html and lighting 102 http://strobist.blogspot.com/2007/06/lighting-102-introduction.html can provide some insight. Also, right here at photo.net http://www.photo.net/learn/nudes/</p>

<p>It all depends on the quality of light you want, and the scale of the shot (entire body, upper body, etc.). Very large soft boxes, bank lighting, or parabolic lighting can work well for gorgeous skin tones. If you want edgier lighting, that's a different story. Maybe you could describe your shot in a bit more detail so we can be more accurate. I don't think ring flash is a good way to go if you're shooting a full body shot. You definitely should use strobe lighting, but again, it depends on the vision you have for the shot.</p>