lighting equipment for baby photo

alice_lum

Hello, I'm a beginner in photography. I have a canon rebel xt w/ 50mm f/1.8

lens. also I have 430ex speedlite. I want to purchase a light kit to take

those professional, bright and soft picture of my baby but I don't know which

light to buy. Do I need to purchase the umbrella too? Anyways what is the

cheapest option. Thank you so much in advance.

I told someone earlier to buy a JTL light kit for $140. It includes a pretty decent starter light, a light stand, and an umbrella. I checked on eBay right afterwards and they're are a bunch of places selling this kit for $130, just search for "J-160" and you'll see them. I have a pair of these that I use in my home studio, they don't take up a lot of room, they're light and easy to stow away when I need to, and they are easy to use. I love them.

Hi Alice,

I'm also an amateur and mother of a 6-month old. If you really want a "cheap" option. I would just go with natural lighting. Depending on the available space you have (distance of your camera to baby and distance of baby to backdrop), you can take very "professional" pictures without any other light source.

See attached or go to this link (below) and see recent pics that I took of my baby with just one window light at 9:30 in the morning. The window is in my bedroom (facing east) and my baby is sitting on my bed.

http://mail.google.com/mail/?realattid=f_es0ncd8p&attid=0.1&disp=inline&view=att&th=10da3712fcac847b

I'm not completely excited about the result, because I know that I could've adjusted the aperture a little differently to get even better contrast, but nevertheless, I feel it's still very good/professional-looking results.

Hope this helps. Best of luck with your options.<div>00I2QT-32371784.thumb.jpg.2dc9434eda70f33c3b6d36d6ac56da6d.jpg</div>