K100D vs. Olympus E-500

sam_yang2

Hi guys..

im just an amateur / semi pro enthusiast. I did take photography from college,

but it was all through FILM SLR, not DSLR.

This will be my first DSLR .. right now, i have a Minolta Z2 .. terrible IMO.

One thing that really bothered me about the Minolta is the "shake" in low

lighting.

Anytime I take any kind of indoor shots.. at night.. The images come out very

blurred. And yes.. I have a steady hand! I also know to press the shutter very

softly as well. Nothing seemed to work.

So.. naturally.. through my search .. I found out about PENTAX K100D's SR.

Sounds like a perfect match. However... I dont know much about PENTAX. .. and

i've been reading about some issues with it too.. slow shutter.. AF.. WF..

etc.

Also... a friend of mine has an Olympus E-1. All the photos are incredible!

Love that camera. And I found out that the E-500 is based on the E-1. Price is

also similar to the K100.

Question is.. which camera is better?

I do like the SR.. but from my own personal experience with the Olympus.. i

love the pictures that it takes...

Picture quality comparison wise.. is Olympus better?

Is the SR that much worth it?

IS, OS, VR, SR, or what ever they call it, is worth it. It's not the magic bullet, but it's close. Canon, Nikon and Sigma include it in some of their lenses. Pentax, Panasonic, Sony and others include it in their cameras. It really does help. It just doesn't fix everything. It won't stop subject movement, for instance, and there still is a limit as to how slow a shutter speed you can hold. It's just allows a lot slower shutter than without it. Very nice.

I doubt you can see much difference in image quality between these cameras, but dpreview.com seems to be highly pleased with the Pentax K100D. You might want to check their latest review.

Sam, my 2 cents (and of course I'm a little biased because I am a K100D user)...