judging a photo contest: have you ever?

A recent thread in this forum got me to thinking about the only time I was a judge of a photo contest. I was one

of three judges, all photographers, with respectable portfolios of different styles.

The "winner" of the contest was a photo that did not make my first cut--in addition to being cliche, it was an

ordinary, out of focus, poorly composed, poorly lighted photo. So, why did this photo win the contest?

I kept thinking I was missing something, trying to see why one of the judges argued vehemently for this photo,

finally deciding that she needed to "win" what she interpreted as an "argument." For this "win," the other

judges agreed with me on the runners-up, one of them changing her vote to mollify me.

Figuring we can all learn from others' experiences, anybody else ever judged a photo contest? What was your

experience? Thanks. --Sally

<p>I do not judge photo contests.</p>

<p>As a former news photographer I do not appreciate the "artsy" photo.</p>

<p>The photo must have a story.</p>

<p>It must have "punch" to backup the story.</p>

<p>It also must be technically correct.</p>

<p>Mine do not always make the grade.</p>

<p>I've never judged, although I've been a judge. That is to say I was derelict in my duties. I participated in a local club for a year, and the focus of activity seemed to be the monthly anonymous contests, with anonymous judging. We were each given a blue, red, and white ticket, for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd, and we were to drop them into cups to vote for each photo we thought deserving of a win. I just tucked my tickets into my pocket and took them home. I guess judging artwork is against my religion. ;-)</p>