Is tungsten better than daylight film?

My profession is in the television industry, and before we went to videotape in television, we obviously

shot 16mm film (70's & 80's). We always shot tungsten balanced films, whether we were shooting negative

or reversal. There was no broblem doing this, we just screwed an 85B filter on the lens whenever we went

outdoors. In those days there was only one daylight 16mm stock around, it was double the cost and

considered not to be as good as quality as tungsten. Also there was absolutely no need to use a daylight

stock. With Kodak 7240 it was 80ASA with an 85B, fine for all outdoor use. Outdoors at night we shot

7250 (400ASA) tungsten balance.

I am now shooting LF using E100VS. The quality is superb but sometimes I am a little dismayed because

the blacks go really black. So I am considering shooting Kodak 100T. I have this passed perception that

tugsten is better then daylight - but this may not be entirely true. Obviously 100T has less grain than

Porta but then 100T is a lower rating. I did read that 100T does have a wider exposure latitude than

Porta, but I can't confirm this. Does anyone know if tungsten film is better quality than daylight stock,

and maybe I would be better shooting 100T than say Porta?

Also everyone says that negative is grainier than transparency and it does appear to be true. But would

this not be (at least partially) as the result that we are seeing more into the blacks? Would shooting a

tungsten/negative stock solve this? Would 100T give me the latitude, without the grain? For those that

have experience with tungsten film, can you give me your opinions? Is tungsten better than daylight?

Anthony,