Is Canon 24/105 F4 IS good enough for concert pictures ?

laurent_reymond

Hi everybody,

I'm Laurent, a french journalist/photographer.

I've got a Canon EOS 350 D with a Sigma 28/70 F:2.8 lens.

I was pretty happy of that setting, but my Sigma lens is dying slowly (autofocus

doesn't work anymore when there's not enough light)

Like I said, I'm a journalist and I take concert photos with credential which

means I've got usually the first 3 tracks to take pictures in the photopit

WITHOUT flash (it's just forbidden by most of the bands).

I assume many of few may have higher standards concerning photo quality and I

have to precise I'm doing photos in the first place because I take care of my

media on my own. Then I'm not so meticulous. All I want is my pictures to be

bright enough.

As the Sigma is dying, I'm looking for a new lens.

Canon 24/70 F2.8 might be the perfect choice but it's a bit too expensive for me.

Then I'm hesitating between Canon 24/105 F:4 IS and Tamron 28/75 F:2.8 ?

I would love to get the Canon, because I would have a higher reach with it and

you're limited with 70 sometimes. But on the other hand, I'm really afraid to

try a F:4 lens for concert pictures without flash.

Do you think F:4 is enough to do something decent in indoor situation without

flash ?

Here is 2 live report with photo taken with my Sigma, one with very good lights

on stage and one with poor lights.

Good lights (Wembley Arena):

http://heavymusic.free.fr/heavymusic2/concert%20review/hhwembley/hhwembley.php

Poor lights (a smaller venue in Belgium with really few lights):

http://heavymusic.free.fr/heavymusic2/concert%20review/sepultorhout/sepultorhout.php

I guess with a good setting on stage, the Canon can do a way better job, but I'm

a bit sceptical concerning low lights situation in small venue.

Thank you for your answers !