Inexpensive video camera (<$400 USD) for 12 year old ...

stephen_ratzlaff

My son is beginning to become interested in motion picture

photography and video. I have no knowledge of video cameras but would

like to find a video camera capable of special effects such as single

frame recording, and time-lapse capability, etc.

My knowledge is in still cameras not video or motion picture. I'd

like to surprise him for his birthday and give him a video camera

where he can make movies of his own with limited special effects such

as stop-motion video.

He's expressed interest in doing movies.

Any recommendations for inexpensive color video cameras with these

capablilites?

Keep in mind that you will need more than just a camcorder to do what you are describing.

First of all, if you're looking for a camcorder in this price range, new, there probably won't be many choices. I would suggest looking around based on price, then once you find something, look to see if the camcorder has the features you want.

Features like time-lapse, and "frame" recording are often omitted from low-end camcorders nowadays. To get these features at this low a price you might need to buy an older, used camcorder.

In my experience, consumer camcorders don't have true single-frame recording. They tend to fire off about 10 frames with each press instead. If you need real single-frame recording with consumer equipment, you'll need to pick out single frames in post, or use a digital camera to capture single frames then string them together in post.

For stop-motion, you will absolutely need a tripod.