I spoke with a very knowledgeable person today that suggested, since I need to

get a dedicated computer for my photography darkroom, that a new imac 24" is

more than enough computer and I shouldn't spend the additional money on a G5.

Does anyone out there have input? Purchasing a G5, monitor, etc would be a

budgetary stretch right now. However, I am a professional and need to produce

the highest quality work. I have been having corruption issues with my pc and

no longer want to deal with those risks.

Is the imac 24" dual core a fast enough, calibratable, professional system for

extremely large (up to 2.5GB) files that are shot large format, drum scanned

and printed up to 48x60 on a lightjet?

I appreciate your input.

Jon

IMO no. With a maximum ram limit of 3gb the latest iMacs will slow to a crawl with such a

large file size - and this is BEFORE adding any layers. Get a Mac 'tower' (G5 or Intel) with the

minimum 1gb ram for now to stay in budget. Later you can add gobs of ram and HD space

to your hearts content when you have the funds.

If you're handling that large of file, you will need GOBLOADS of ram. Right now, CS2 can't even handle *much* more than 2.5 GB, so any sort of editting can put you onto the scratch disk, which is slooooow.

At some time in the future, Adobe will hopefully pull it's head out, get with the times, and release a 64-bit version of Photoshop. When that happens, you'll be able to stick tons of ram in a computer, and working on your files will be greatly sped up.

So... you might want to keep that in consideration, and pay attention to how much memory you will be able to put in the machine of your choice and whether it will operate in 64-bit mode.