I need to decide what camera to get to be used for stills and video

martynas_photo

<p>Hello,<br /> Sorry, but I am really stuck with this one. I need to buy a DSLR for photography (to replace my D700), however, it should also have a decent video capability. Unfortunately - I know little about video, except that Canon is somewhat regarded as a better choice than Nikon. The problem here is that I have an array of Nikon gear, so switching brands would be a fairly painful option for me. So, basically I am considering either a d610 or d800. As a photographer I prefer the d610 variant (first due to file size, second - because I see the 36mp camera as a tool to be used mostly with tripod, while I mostly work handheld or with monopod (I photograph theatre)). Anyway - no problem of choice from the photographic perspective. Meanwhile , some of the theatre companies I work with asked if I could also do short video clips for them in the future, that is why I am asking for your advice. Do these two models from Nikon have any significant differences in the video department? The videos would mostly be used for youtube and the like, however it is possible that some of the footage would also be used as part of the future tv promos of the companies. Is Nikon really that way behind Canon in terms of video? <br /> Thank you very much in advance for your ideas and comments.</p>

<p>I cannot claim to be an expert, but my research has shown both those cameras used quite a bit for video. In fact David Hobby ( the strobist) recently invested in 2 D600's purely for video work.<br>

The trick is to learn how to use them effectively. Decent support, off board sound, and recording to an external device like a Atomos Blade or Ninja will make the difference.</p>