How to get that bright, clear wedding look

holly_swanson

<p>Hi everyone, I'm a beginner with a big interest in weddings. I have gotten some good equipment together for which I am very grateful, and am trying to perfect my technique. The problem is, the look I am going for I just can't figure out how to achieve. </p>

<p>The look I love is that bright, white, crisp, CLEAR wedding look. Like you could reach out and touch the scene. Pretty hard to describe so I'll try to post examples. <br>

http://isa2.stylemepretty.com/submissions/uploads/clary@claryphoto.com/59957/900/nrpfeiffer000612_r5_e124$!400x.jpg<br>

http://www.chicagoillinoisweddingphotography.com/uploads/2010/05/palmer-house-hilton-chicago-wedding-photography.jpg<br>

http://www.jasminestarblog.com/images/content/Royal-Hawaiian-Hotel-Wedding-Photo002.jpg<br>

http://www.jasminestarblog.com/images/content/Kunde-Estate-Wedding-Photo001.jpg</p>

<p>I'm not sure if it's simply the sharpness or what. All I know is that I can get some pretty sharp photos (using professional primes), but mine never quite look like that. Mine are always too contrasty, and even adjustments in lightroom don't quite get the look I want. Unless I'm just not doing something right. </p>

<p>So how do you make your photos look like they're lit in pretty daylight even when they're not? Is it all in the post processing? Is it all the lenses, the sharpness..?</p>

<p> </p>

<p>To me it looks like most of those DO rely on a ton of natural light. They look bright because there is a bunch of light in the scene already, and the photographers are letting as much light into the camera as they can with wide apertures. Those wide apertures also give a shallow depth of field — when you're talking about the "sharpness" of the photos, my guess is that you're responding positively to the juxtaposition of areas of focus (like the bouquet in the first picture) against a large, smoothly out-of-focus background.</p>