How to Fix Yellow Tint with Hot Lights

john_catapano2

I�ve been tasked with taking some staff photos for my company�s

annual report. Most of my previous photographic experience has been

with nature (bird) photography, so I have little knowledge of studio

photography/lighting other than what I�ve read on this website.

My company owns a few Smith-Victor lights with 500-watt GE bulbs.

Ran a couple test rolls using these lights and the photos came out

horribly yellow. What can I do to fix this problem? Should I try a

filter of some sort, buy some better bulbs for the lights (what

kind?), or get my company to purchase some better lights. Any

suggestions for a studio newby who�s trying to save my company a few

bucks would be appreciated.

Use film that is balanced for 3200K light. For color negative use Fuji NPL or Kodak

Portra 100T. For transparency the best choices will be Kodak 64T (EPT or EPY is the

code) or Fuji 64TII.

I appreciate your situation but you should let your bosses know that hiring the pro

who knows how to best solve the primary problem of visual communicating the

companies message effectively is the best way for the company to save money by

spending it effectively.

I have no doubt that they came out quite yellow. Such lights are not made for photography. I wouldn't be surprised if the room became quite hot as well in no time unless there was a lot of air circulation. There is no majic bulb to buy here, you need pure light coming from a flash.

I second the recommendation above to have films that are made for this type of light, but I would also suggest that you rent photography ligthing equipment for a day which can be surprisingly cheap. Even just two monolights with umbrellas can be set in minutes and give you the results you are looking for. Knowing how to use a flashmeter would help as well in this case as it's almost essential.