How Should I Start?

kenneth_guarino

I'm an architecture student and I find photography a really nice way to improve my works. I think I really have

the passion for it. I really want to learn. Currently, I have a Yashica FX-3 Super 2000, the one I used for photo

journalism when I was in the fifth grade, isn't it an obsolete piece? Do I really have to buy a new one? If yes,

what camera would you suggest? Digital or Film? And please share some words of wisdom on how I should start.

Thank you.

Kenneth, I don't know much about your camera, but I am writing this after Google search your camera. It is an

manual SLR camera which supports Yashika lenses. If it is working nicely end you are getting results from it,

than no need to throw it out. It is a very nice camera. We don't get much result variations while using different

film cameras and if we are using digitals, than results vary brand by brand, model by model. You can also

consider to buy a film scanner so that you don't need to get printed every picture, film scanners are so cheap

nowadays.

In my opinion, you don't need to buy any other camera, if you can easily afford and buy films and after using you

can get developed those. If films are not issue for you, than keep using this and master the exposure.

Later on (after two or more years) you can think about DSLR because than DSLRs would be technically more sound

and more cheaper.

I would also like to know that what lens you have with your camera, because lens produces a better picture not a

camera. Camera body is only a medium which helps to store your captured shot on a film frame or on a digital

sensor, while a lens plays roll to capture a nice shot in terms of resolution and quality. On the other hand,

your skills and knowledge are major part of the final result, so develop your skills.

I would only suggest one thing about your camera that, now don't invest a big amount in Yahika lenses for your